top of page

GUEST BEDROOM MAKEOVER

Updated: Apr 18, 2023

Do you sometimes look at a room in your home and think "Where do I start" ?


When we first got the keys to our house, I didn't quite have a vision for our guest bedrooms, all I knew is that the colours I use had to somehow match the flooring and the wall paint colour and I really wanted the rooms to have a coastal feel. So ..."Where did I start?"


Firstly I searched around and looked for a fan. The fan being at the centre of the room it had to be in the right colour, it also needed to have the proper functions so our guests could easily use it.

So I started to look for fans with a remote, the last thing you'd want is to have to walk up to the switch everytime you need to turn it on or off , right?


I found this beautiful fan from Ozlighting and absolutely fell in love with the colour of the blades. The colour is called Ash and it seemingly blended in with our flooring which was exactly what I wanted. To top it off, the fan has 5 speeds and comes with a remote control, so needless to say.. it was the winner. I loved it so much that I also used the same one in my son's bedroom.


On hot summer days, we use mainly the 3rd or 4th speed.. be wary, the 5th one is so powerful!


Now for the second step... what to add on the wall behind the bed. The main questions you need to ask yourself are:

  • Do I want a bedhead OR do I need a bedhead?

Bedheads to me can really compliment the look of a bed, you have so many available in different styles and colours though so how to know which one to pick.


The first thing you need to determine is, what am I going to put on the wall behind the bed... leave it a bare painted wall, wallpaper, wall hangings, a decal, panelling... there are so many options to go with.

And once you've determined what you want to do, then work your way from there.

For example:

  • If you decide to go with wallpaper, you would obviously want the wallpaper to be the feature so the best thing to do would be to go with either no bedhead at all or to go with a see-through one so you can still see the feature wall throughout the bedhead

  • Or say you decide to go with feature wall panelling, you would want to go with a full solid backing soft and plush bedhead so it sits right up against the wainscotting without moving. And also most people who go with this type of look opt for a hamptons or country style home and the combination of the two together can look divine if the right colours are chosen.

For this particular guest bedroom we've decided to go with Decal from Siesta Walls. I wanted to add a bit of details without it looking too busy and a decal was perfect to achieve that. Being completely flat like a sticker, it wouldn't give you too much texture but it would still give you some details.


Our Geometric Beige Arch Decal from Siesta walls was also very easy to install in comparison to installing wallpaper to a full wall, making it perfect for those who want to give it a go themselves 😊

Once you've laid out your options for these two, my next steps were as below:


  • Pick the bed you want but make sure to install the Decal after the bed arrives

  • Take a photo of the room and let it sink into your mind, try to picture different colours in the room with these two until something really jumps at you. I find creating moodboards using Style Source Book is an excellent way of putting things together but make sure you put the right colours in there so you can truly visualise what it's going to look like once put together

  • Remember to play around with colours, always try to have a feature cushion on the bed to break it up a little

  • Last but not least should be your rug. A rug will not only soften the room but it will also make the bedroom feel complete.




IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, LEAVE THEM IN THE COMMENTS BELOW 💕



44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page